Departmental Historical Background

Birth of Department of Geomatics and Land Management

Following the approval by the Makerere University council to transform the University into a Collegiate University, the Faculty of Technology was merged with Margret Trowel School of Fine Art to form the College of Engineering, Design, Art and Technology (CEDAT). Consequently the Department of surveying was renamed “The Department of Geomatics and Land management” under the School of Built Environment in the College.

Formerly, the Department of Surveying was initially a division under the Department of Civil Engineering when the then Faculty of Technology fully opened its doors in July 1970. It was later declared a Department in 1986 with Dr. Nasani Batungi as Head of Department. The department offers a degree program for a Bachelors of Science in Surveying and the initial intake for the program was in 1990 with 10 students.

The surveying program duration lasted four years, divided into three parts – the Preliminary and Part I, which were common to all the students, lasting two years. Part II involved splitting of the students into the three disciplines also with a duration of two years.

A major structural change took place in July 1978 when the common course was reduced to three terms, becoming the equivalent of the first year. Examinations were then held at the end of each academic year. The fourth term of each year was devoted to industrial training. The programme instituted in 1978 remained virtually unchanged until December 1995. It was resolved that admissions were to be direct into the discipline of Civil Engineering. Five years later, the Department of Surveying was formed in 1990.

The Department of Geomatics and Land Management Today

The Department has been in the process of reviewing the Curriculum for Bsc. Surveying undergraduate course under the Millennium Science Initiative and has made thorough consultations with stakeholders. Today, the Department is in its final stages of curriculum review which will hopefully be implemented the next academic year (2011/2012) under the Bachelor of Land Surveying and Geomatics. The Department also intends to start offering a Masters in Geo Information Science and Technology post graduate course for the Academic year 2011/2012 whose success will be boasted by the well equipped Department.

The Staff establishment of the department consists of: 2 professors, 2 Associate Professors, 4 Senior Lecturers, 8 Lecturers, 4 Assistant Lecturers, 2 Teaching Assistants. So far, the department has 2 Senior Lecturers, 5 Lecturers, 4 Assistant Lecturers and 4 Teaching Assistants. Of these, 5 staff have PhD, 4 staff are completing their PhDs, 4 have MSc, and 4 with BSc., 2 are pursuing Masters