Established in 1984, the Department of Architecture has enjoyed a rich and diverse experience in training students from all walks of life both within Uganda and all over East Africa. The educational experience is broadened and enriched by close interaction between the department, professional architects in the field and partner universities like the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), The Oslo School of Architecture and the Eastern African architecture schools.

The first cohort was admitted for the Bachelor of Architecture in the Academic Year 1989/1990, with eight students. At the present, the department’s annual intake has reached thirty students on average.

The Department seeks to stimulate future architects to think and learn more widely about their art, about the vast spectrum of sources from which they legitimately can and should draw inspiration, and about the impact that their work will have on the future of the society they are to serve.

Design education in the Department of Architecture is based on the studio model of instruction, with students organized in small groups working directly with staff tutors on guided research and design projects over the length of a full semester.

Dr. Stephen Mukiibi
Chair, Department of Architecture and Physical Planning

Department staff

Barnabus Nawangwe Associate Professor
Henry Alinaitwe Associate Professor
Stephen Mukiibi Senior Lecturer
Amin Tamale-Kiggundu Lecturer
Allan Birabi Senior Lecturer
Nnagendda-Musana Lecturer
Kenneth Sssemwogerere Lecturer
Ian Senkatuka Lecturer
Cato Lund Visiting Lecturer
Fredrick Omolo Lecturer
Lillian Namuganyi Lecturer
Doreen kyosimire Assistant Lecturer
Sam kisa Assistant Lecturer
Mr. J. Musamba Assistant Lecturer
Ms. E. Babirye Secretary
Ms.G. Nakimuli Technician
Mr .s.kapasa Senior Technician
Mr. R.Ssemuju Technician
Mr. l. ssemata Driver
Charles  Nyakwebara Assistant Lecturer
Ms. D. karungi Assistant Lecturer
Mr. D. muhwezi Assistant Lecturer
Were Gilbert Andrew Part time
Nalubwama-Machyo Assistant Lecturer
Johnbosco Mulwana Assistant Lecturer
Andrew Wakuma Lecturer