Dr. Amin Tamale-Kiggundu, Chair, Department of Architecture and Physical Planning

Established in 1984, the Department of Architecture has enjoyed a rich and diverse experience in training students from all walks of life both within Uganda and all over East Africa. The educational experience is broadened and enriched by close interaction between the department, professional architects in the field and partner universities like the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), The Oslo School of Architecture and the Eastern African architecture schools.

The first cohort was admitted for the Bachelor of Architecture in the Academic Year 1989/1990, with eight students. At the present, the department’s annual intake has reached thirty students on average.

The Department seeks to stimulate future architects to think and learn more widely about their art, about the vast spectrum of sources from which they legitimately can and should draw inspiration, and about the impact that their work will have on the future of the society they are to serve.

Design education in the Department of Architecture is based on the studio model of instruction, with students organized in small groups working directly with staff tutors on guided research and design projects over the length of a full semester.

Amin Tamale-Kiggundu
Chair, Department of Architecture and Physical Planning

Department staff

Barnabas NawangweAssociate Professor
Henry AlinaitweAssociate Professor
Stephen MukiibiSenior Lecturer
Amin Tamale-KiggunduChair, Department of Architecture and Physical Planning
Allan BirabiSenior Lecturer
Kenneth SssemwogerereLecturer
Ian SenkatukaLecturer
Cato LundVisiting Lecturer
Fredrick OmoloLecturer
Lillian NamuganyiLecturer
Doreen kyosimireAssistant Lecturer
Sam kisaAssistant Lecturer
Mr. J. MusambaAssistant Lecturer
Ms. E. BabiryeSecretary
Ms.G. NakimuliTechnician
Mr .s.kapasaSenior Technician
Mr. R.SsemujuTechnician
Mr. l. ssemataDriver
Charles  NyakwebaraAssistant Lecturer
Ms. D. karungiAssistant Lecturer
Mr. D. muhweziAssistant Lecturer
Were Gilbert AndrewPart time
Nalubwama-MachyoAssistant Lecturer
Johnbosco MulwanaAssistant Lecturer
Andrew WakumaLecturer