The CEDAT Principal, Prof. Henry Alinaitwe, The Dean of the School of The Built Environment, Prof. Moses Musinguzi, The Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Assoc. Prof. John Baptist Kirabira and Dr. Kenneth Ssemwogerere from the Department of Architecture and Physical Planning on Tuesday 1st May 2018 received the Golden Jubilee Award from the President of the Republic of Uganda H.E. Yoweri Kaguta Museveni. This was during the International Labour Day celebrations held in Sembabule District.

The Golden Jubilee Award received, which happens to be the highest level of award attainable by civilians was given to them on recognition of their contribution to University Education in Uganda.

Other recipients of the award included Chairperson Appointments Board-Mr. Bruce Balaba Kabaasa, Chairperson, Finance, Planning and Administration Committee of Council-Hon. Thomas Tayeebwa, Acting Deputy Vice Chancellor (Finance and Administration)-Prof. William Bazeyo, University Secretary-Mr. Charles Barugahare, CAES Principal-Prof. Bernard Bashaasha, CHS Principal-Prof. Charles Ibingira, CoNAS Principal-Prof. Joseph Y.T. Mugisha, CAES’ Prof. Phinehas Tukamuhabwa, CHS’ Prof. David Serwadda, Prof. Moses Kamya, Prof. Josaphat Byamugisha Kayogoza and Prof. Charles Amnon Sunday Karamagi.